How to accept or reject a background check

Follow

Each background check requires action from an administrator.

A background check will not show as approved on the Manage Users page until it has been approved on the Manage page in the Background Checks submenu.

After reviewing a completed background check, take action on it by clicking the gear symbol cog-solid.svg in the right-hand column or by using the four action buttons on the left side of the Manage page under Background Checks.

Once the background check has been accepted or rejected, it will move it into the View All page in the Background Checks submenu.

WarningDo not take action on a background check before it has completed processing, as this will interrupt the process and the background check will have to be archived and reordered.

Approve: Select this option if there is nothing in the background check report that precludes the user from involvement in your organization.

Pre-Adverse: Select this option if there is information in the background check report that may preclude the user from involvement in your organization. In compliance with the FCRA (federal law), a notification letter will be sent by email to the user, including a copy of the background check report and a copy of each individual’s rights under the law. This step MUST occur before any adverse action is taken based upon the report.

Adverse: Select this option if the background check report includes information that precludes the user from involvement in your organization, and you have completed the pre-adverse process.

Archive: Select this option to reorder a new background check if a technical error has occurred, or the user’s 14 day time limit to complete the background check has expired.

Seeing multiple names on one background check report? Learn more here.

Don’t see the user’s name on the background check report? Lean more here.

2 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.